The T20 World Cup winners Australia is set to host the Ashes this winter. Cricket Australia on Tuesday announced the squad for the clash with England at home.

As per details, the Aussies named a 15-player squad for the first two Tests of this summer’s Men’s Ashes, alongside an extended player list from which an Australia A team will be selected for a tour match against the English Lions.

Read More – ‘Too old and slow’: David Warner’s wife Candice slams trolls after Australian star helps team lift WC title


This will be Australia’s first Test series since last summer’s Border-Gavaskar campaign, Usman Khawaja and Jhye Richardson both return to the team.

Chair of selectors George Bailey indicated Marcus Harris would open the batting with David Warner, retaining his spot as the incumbent.


Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins (vice captain), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Additional Australia A players:

Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Bryce Street

On the other hand, team England’s Test specialists were to fly out to Queensland on November 4, with five players involved in the T20 World Cup – Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Woakes and Wood – will be joining them after completing their quarantine.

The squad includes10 players who have never played a Test in Australia. Ben Stokes has made himself available for the five-Test series that starts in Brisbane on December 8, giving a massive shot in the arm to the chances of Joe Root’s team regaining the Ashes over the coming weeks.

England’s 2021-22 Ashes squad

Joe Root (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Men’s Ashes fixtures

First Test: December 8-12 – The Gabba, Brisbane

Second Test: December 16-20 – Adelaide Oval

Third Test: December 26-30 – Melbourne Cricket Ground

Fourth Test: January 5-9 – Sydney Cricket Ground

Fifth Test: January 14-18 – Perth Stadium