Cricket Australia has announced the squad of 16 players for the white-ball leg of the historic Pakistan tour.

Several big names including the likes of David Warner, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and Glenn Maxwell are giving the ODI and T20I series a miss.

Notably, Australia, who are set to tour Pakistan for the first time in 24 years, will play three ODIs and a one-off T20I in Pakistan, which gets underway on March 29.


Cricket Australia won’t release their contracted players to join the early stages of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, which is scheduled to take place in April.

Chief selector of Australian cricket team George Bailey has said that he is confident that the team will do well in the series.

Australia’s ODI and T20 squad:

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa.

Power-hitting batter Matthew Wade has been excluded from the team.

Meanwhile, Pakistani Twitterati is not satisfied with these big names who are missing the white-ball leg. Netizens claim that these five names have IPL contracts and this could be the reason for them to ditch the series.