Australia defeated unbeaten hosts India by six wickets on Sunday in the final of the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup, becoming the world cricket champion for the sixth time.

The final, played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, saw India walk into the arena hot favourites to win. Australian captain Pat Cummins won the toss and decided to bowl first.

India’s batting:


India started aggressively against Australia, after opener Shubman Gill got out after scoring just 4 runs, but captain Rohit Sharma provided a good start to the team by batting as he did in the entire tournament. When he returned to the pavilion after scoring 47 runs off 31 balls.

Australian bowlers dominated the Indian batsmen throughout the match and did not allow them to play freely. Virat Kohli and KL Rahul tried to make a long partnership by taking singles and doubles but then Kohli was also dismissed for 54 runs while Rahul returned to the pavilion for 66 runs.

Surya Kumar Yadav scored 18 runs, Ravindra Jadeja scored nine runs, Mohammad Shami scored six runs, and Shreyas Iyer scored four runs. Jasprit Bumra scored one run, Kuldeep Yadav scored 10 runs and Mohammad Siraj scored nine runs.

Thus, the Indian team got out after scoring 240 runs in the allotted overs, a total much smaller than they were expected to put up.

Australia’s Mitchell Starc took three wickets, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins dismissed two each while Adam Zampa and Glenn Maxwell got one wicket each.

Australia’s batting:

In pursuit of India’s target, Australia did not start well, with three Australian batsmen out for a total score of 47.
Labuschagne and Travis Head then formed a brilliant partnership and silenced the more than 100,000 Indian fans sitting in the ground in Ahmedabad. Both the batsmen batted with composure, hitting attractive shots all around the ground.

A match-winning partnership of 192 runs between Labuschagne and Travis Head shattered India’s dreams of winning the World Cup. Travis Head scored 137 while Labuschagne played an unbeaten innings of 58 runs, Glenn Maxwell remained not out by scoring two runs.