Prime Minister Imran Khan has once again reshuffled the federal cabinet, appointing Shaukat Tareen as new finance minister.

Tareen has replaced federal minister Hammad Azhar, who was appointed as the country’s finance minister a few weeks ago when the premier replaced him with Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh.

Other changes include Khusro Bakhtiar as the minister for industries and production, Shibli Faraz as the minister for science and technology, replacing Fawad Chaudhry, who has been appointed as the minister for information and broadcasting, replacing Faraz.


Omar Ayub has been appointed as the minister for economic affairs, replacing Khusro Bakhtiar.

Last month, Faraz had shared the premier’s intentions on reshuffling the cabinet, saying that he was bringing in a new team.

Prior to that, the government had asked Hafeez Shaikh to step down and appointed Azhar in his place.

Faraz said decisions were made keeping in view the realities of the country and that the PTI regime wished to give relief to the poor.

“When a new individual comes along, they come up with new ideas,” he had said.

Reports had earlier quoted sources as saying that PM Imran was considering bringing about important changes to the cabinet on a “big scale”, adding that ministers who did not perform up to the expectations will be removed from their portfolios.