Director General (DG) Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR), Major General Babar Iftikhar, has been promoted to the rank of lieutenant general, the ISPR announced on Tuesday (today).

Maj Gen Babar Iftikhar is presently serving as the ISPR Director General, a post he has held since January 2020.

Major General Inam Haider Malik, Major General Fayyaz Hussain Shah, Major General Nauman Zakria, Major General Muhammad Zafar Iqbal, Major General Ayman Bilal Safdar, Major General Ahsan Gulrez, Major General Syed Aamer Raza, Major General Shahid Imtiaz, Major General Muhammad Munir Afsar, Major General Yousaf Jamal, and Major General Kashif Nazir have also been promoted to the rank of Lieutenant General.


In August, Lt Gen Faiz Hameed was appointed the Corps Commander, Bahawalpur. Lt Gen Sardar Hassan Azhar Hayat replaced him as the new Corps Commander, Peshawar.


The same month, Lt Gen Asif Ghafoor was appointed as the Commander XII Corps (Quetta), replacing Lt Gen Sarfraz Ali, who was martyred in a helicopter crash during flood relief operations in Balochistan.