A day after Punjab Assembly, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly on Monday also approved a motion expressing no-trust in Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sikandar Sultan Raja.

The development was shared by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) official Twitter handle.

The resolution demanded immediate general elections in the country and called for the ECP members and CEC to step down.


Punjab Assembly approves motion for ECP chief’s resignation

On Sunday, the Punjab Assembly (PA) approved a motion today on Sunday calling for CEC Sikandar’s resignation.

This development came after PTI candidate Sibtain Khan was elected the Speaker of the Punjab Assembly.

The session of the provincial assembly began with newly-elected PA Speaker Khan administering the oath to his deputy, Wasiq Qayyum.

Later, PTI Member of Provincial Assembly (MPA) Syed Abbas Shah presented the motion against Sultan. After the motion was approved, the Assembly was adjourned till August 15.

PTI Information Secretary Farrukh Habib issued a statement on Saturday and said the party had prepared to file a disqualification reference in the Supreme Judicial Council (SJC) against the CEC. He said the CEC met PDM leaders after reserving a judgment in the prohibited funding case.

“By doing so, the chief election commissioner violated his oath, the code of conduct as well as his constitutional duty,” he added.

In an address to his supporters, PTI Chairman Imran Khan expressed his complete lack of trust in the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and CEC Raja. Khan accused the ECP of supporting former Chief Minister (CM) Punjab Hamza Shehbaz.