No mobile signals on election day:

The general election of 2024 took place on February 8, and there were no mobile signals on election day across the country. Caretaker prime minister Anwar Kakar said, “I don’t know what difficulties citizens are facing due to mobile suspension.”

Polling started late:


According to a report in The Express TRIBUNE, polling at most women polling stations started late on February 8 due to the late supply of election material in different areas of the country. 

Blasts on election day:

Two blasts happened on Election Day in Lajja town and the Kharan area of Balochistan. At least three people were killed in two blasts on February 8.

Hot Seats:

NA-122 Lahore was a hot seat as Khawja Saad Rafique of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and PTI-backed candidate Sardar Latif Khosa were in competition. However, Sardar Latif Khosa won this seat.

NA-128 was also a hot seat as PTI-backed candidate Salman Akram Raja and Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party’s (IPP) Aun Chaudhary were competing on it. However, Aun Chaudhary won this seat.

NA-130 was also an important seat, as former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was in competition with PTI-supported Yasmeen Rashid. However, Nawaz Sharif won this seat.

Long delay in election results:

Election results took a long long time to be tabulated and released.

ECP decides to announce results:

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) decided to announce results, beginning with three constituencies at 2am on February 9.

Allegations of rigging:

Multiple politicians claimed that the elections were rigged in different constituencies, and some politicians challenged their defeat in courts. 

PTI Independents take the lead:

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-backed candidates took the lead and then maintained it.

Nawaz’s victory speech:

Former Prime Minister, Nawaz Sharif cancelled his victory speech on Thursday night due to a delay in results. The next day, February 9, Nawaz Sharif said in his speech that all politicians and political parties should work together.

Shehbaz meetings:

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president Shehbaz Sharif met Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Asif Zardari, on Friday, and a delegation of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) on Saturday to discuss the possibility of joining hands in a coalition government.

Final Tally:

According to results so far, PTI-backed candidates are 93, PML-N has 73 and PPP won 53 National Assembly seats.