India won the Asia Cup title for a record eighth time by defeating defending champions Sri Lanka in the final of the Asia Cup 2023 on Sunday. India easily chased down Sri Lanka’s target of just 51 runs in 6.1 overs, winning the match by 10 wickets to become Asian champions.

Shubman Gul and Ishan Kishan remained unbeaten on 27 runs and 23 runs respectively for India.

It should be noted that India has won the title of Asia Cup the most times.


In the final played at Wilambo, Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat against India, which turned out to be the wrong decision.

The Lankan batting started with a delay due to rain, but as soon as the match started, the Sri Lankan batting line-up was decimated, with 6 wickets down for just 12 runs. Sri Lankan players could not even enter double figures, with Kaushal Mendes becoming top scorer with 17 runs. Five Sri Lankan players were bowled out for zero.

India captain Rohit Sharma said on the occasion of the toss that if his team had won the toss, they would have batted first.

Read More: Did we lose the match because of Shehbaz’s tweets? X users say yes