The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)  faced a major upset on multiple seats in the first phase of local government (LG) elections held in Khyber Pakhtun­khwa (KP) at the hands of Maulana Fazlur Rehman’s Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F).

Mayor seat elections:


JUI-F’s Zubair Ali won the race with 62,388 votes while PTI’s Rizwan Bangash was second with 50,659 votes.

JUI-F’s Zubair Ali

In Mardan, Awami National Party’s (ANP) Himayatullah Mayar won the seat with 56,458 votes while JUI-F’s Amanat Shah Haqqani was in second place with 49,938 votes.


ANP’s Himayatullah Mayar

Sher Zaman of JUI-F won the mayor seat with 34,434 votes and independent candidate Shafiullah Jan was in second place with 25,793 votes.

Sher Zaman of JUI-F

JUI-F’s Irfanullah Durrani has been declared the winner with 59,844 votes and PTI’s Iqbal Jadoon Khan was second with 47,398 votes.

JUI-F’s Irfanullah Durrani

JUI-F emerges victorious in 16 tehsil council seats, PTI wins 14, as per unofficial results, reports Geo News.