Opposition parties Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) and a few other groups have joined hands to unite in upholding the supremacy of the Constitution and restoration of democracy in the country.

The decision was taken in a meeting hosted by Majlis Wahdatul Muslimeen (MWM) where all parties in the capital city got together to protect the country’s Constitution and democracy from threats, their statement read.

The meeting was attended by PTI Chairman Barrister Gohar Ali Khan, Omar Ayub, Asad Qaiser and Raoof Hasan; Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party’s Mahmood Khan Achakzai, Abdul Rahim Ziyaratwal, Sardar Shafiq Khan Tareen and Riaz Khan.


Leaders of the opposition parties expressed deep grievances over the increasing involvement of establishment in politics. “The establishment’s unconstitutional political role and interference has created a terrible distance between the people and the state,” it was said.

The meeting also underscored the significance of free and fair elections and the independence of judiciary. They categorically rejected the elections results that were changed.