Pakistan clinched a four-wicket win over South Africa in the third and final T20 international at the Gadaffi Stadium in Lahore to not only win the three-match T20 series 2-1 but also become the first international side to post 100 wins in this format.

Sunday’s win (February 14) was Pakistan’s 100th in 163 matches with India in second place with 88 wins in 137 matches.

32-year-old leg-spinner Zahid Mahmood picked up 3-40 in his debut game, reducing South Africa to 65/7 before Miller’s clean hitting powered South Africa to a total of 164-8. Miller hit five fours and seven sixes in his unbeaten knock.


South Africa’s Tabraiz Shamsi grabbed 4/25 in a game dominated by spinners, but Pakistan’s lower order hung in to reach 169/6 with eight balls to spare and record its 100th win in a T20 international.

Hasan Ali (20 not out) raised the victory with two sixes and a four against Andile Phehlukwayo as seamers again found it difficult to grip the wet ball because of dew. 

“Credit must be given to David Miller for playing an outstanding inning and making the match interesting,” said Pakistan captain Babar Azam. “We told the players to play fearless cricket and that’s why we finished on the right side.”

Babar top-scored for the national side with 44 off 30 balls. While Mohammad Rizwan contributed 42 runs to the cause. He also scored 197 runs in the three-match series, becoming the man of the series and Nawaz became man of the match.

The green side celebrated the victory over South Africa at home ground. The young cricketers recreated the trending ‘Pawri Ho Rhi Hai’ to celebrate their big win on the field.

Pakistan beat South Africa 2-0 in the test series before completing the double by handing the Proteas its first defeat in a T20 series in Asia.

After winning the series, players and fans are now gearing up for the sixth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) set to begin next week on February 20.