Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) retained Khanewal district’s PP-206 constituency.

PML-N’s candidate Rana Muhammad Saleem emerged victorious, according to unofficial results. Saleem bagged 47,649 votes, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf’s (PTI) Noreen Nishat Daha got 34,030 votes, while Pakistan People’s Party’s (PPP) Syed Wisaq was able to gain 15,059, according to unofficial results from all the 183 polling stations.

The voting count ended at 5pm after polling began at 8am as the seat fell vacant due to the death of PML-N leader Nishat Ahmed Daha. However, his wife Noreen was contesting on PTI’s ticket.


PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz, congratulating the winner, tweeted, “Congratulations to the lions of Khanewal. Nawaz Sharif’s name is enough.”

Taking to Twitter, Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, President of Pakistan Institute of Legislative Development and Transparency (Pildat), shared a few statistics in relevance to the election in Khanewal.

Mehboob tweeted, “PP206, Khanewal4 is a second by-election in Punjab in a row where PPP vote share significantly went up, from 5.86 per cent in 2018 to 13.53 per cent yesterday.”

“Winner PMLN vote slightly decreased from 45 to 42.8 per cent. PTI vote slipped significantly from 41.9 to 30.58 per cent. TLP vote went up from 5 to 8.64 per cent.”

PPP chairperson Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari too congratulated the party candidate contesting in the elections. Taking to Twitter Bilawal wrote, “Good work south Punjab team #PPP.”