Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Ayaz Sadiq has been elected as the new speaker of the National Assembly (NA) on Friday afternoon.  Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-supported candidate Amir Dogar was in competition with PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq for the position of speaker NA.

Sadiq won the contest with 199 votes, gaining a majority from the members of the PML-N, PPP and other lawmakers backing his nomination in the lower house. 

The counting of votes is being done by the NA Secretariat staff in the presence of polling agents for both candidates.


The NA session was held today to elect the speaker and deputy speaker. However, the elected PTI-backed MNAs chanted slogans against alleged rigging in the February 8 polls.

The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Raja Parvez Ashraf chaired today’s session of NA.

Raja Parvez Ashraf will also take oath from the speaker and deputy speaker of the NA. After taking the oath, the new speaker will take charge of the lower house.