Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Sarfraz Bugti was elected on Saturday as the unopposed leader of the house in the Balochistan Assembly. The newly-elected chief minister got 41 votes.

Bugti will take the oath today, with the swearing-in ceremony to be held at the Governor House at 3 p.m, where Balochistan Governor Abdul Wali Kakar will administer the oath.

Sarfraz Bugti’s nomination was announced in the Balochistan Assembly’s session today.


The former federal minister submitted his nomination papers after instructions from PPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardrai and co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari.

He is also supported by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leaders, including Nawab Sanaullah Khan Zehri and Sardar Sarfaraz Chakar Domki.