Defending champions Multan Sultans have reserved a place in the Final of Pakistan Super League (PSL) for the second consecutive time after defeating Lahore Qalandars with 28 runs at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Wednesday.

Rilee Rossouw and Mohammad Rizwan stroked unbeaten half-centuries to help Multan collect 163/2 in 20 overs after they were 65/2 at the halfway stage.

Qalandars were cruising nicely at 102/3 in the 14th over before they suffered a collapse and ultimately finished at 135/9. While Sultans qualified for Sunday’s final, Qalandars have another opportunity to reach their second title match in three years when they will play the winner of Peshawar Zalmi-Islamabad United on Friday (February 25).


Rossouw struck seven fours and a six in his 42-ball 65 not out, while Rizwan scored a 51-ball 53 not out with three fours. Rizwan added 47 runs for the second wicket with Aamer Azmat (33), while he put on 113 runs for the unfinished third wicket with Rossouw.

For Qalandars, Mohammad Hafeez and Samit Patel took a wicket each. In turn, Qalandars lost their way following the departure of Harry Brook (13) as they lost six wickets for 33 in just six overs to finish at 135/9.

Fakhar Zaman scored an entertaining 63 off 45 balls with two fours and four sixes, including three successive sixes off Imran Tahir. He added 54 runs for the fourth wicket with Harry Brook.

Shahnawaz Dahani was the star for Sultans with the ball. He grabbed the crucial wickets of Brook (13), Phil Salt (1) and Shaheen Shah Afridi (1) to finish with figures three of 19. David Willey bagged two for 23, while Asif Afridi and Khushdil Shah bagged a wicket each.

Dahani bagged Player of the Match award for his prolific bowling figures.