The National Command and Operation Center (NCOC) has imposed a complete travel ban from red zone African countries and Hong Kong on Saturday evening after the emergence of a new Covid variant, Omicron.

NCOC tweeted the notification in which six South African countries and Hong Kong are included in category C due to Omicron.


A complete ban has been imposed on every direct and indirect flight with immediate effect.

Earlier, the United Kingdom (UK) already imposed the travel ban from South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, and Eswatini unless travellers are the UK or Irish nationals.


Head of NCOC, Asad Umar took to Twitter to urge the people of Pakistan how important it is to get vaccinated.