The ruling party’s candidate, Sadiq Sanjrani, was on Friday elected as the Senate chairman, defeating joint opposition’s candidate Yousaf Raza Gilani by reportedly three votes.

According to reports, Sanjrani received 48 votes against Gilani’s 42 whereas seven of the latter’s votes were rejected during count.

Earlier, polling for the Senate chairman’s post started at 3 pm, presided over by officials from the Senate Secretariat.


The process of voting completed at 4:40 pm, but counting started after the official time, i.e. 5 pm.

Earlier in the day, the newly-elected members of the upper house had taken their oath of office shortly after the session began at 10 am.