Special Assistant to the Prime Minister (SAPM) on Power and Petroleum Tabish Gauhar has reportedly stepped down from his position after almost one year of his appointment.

According to sources, Prime Minister Imran Khan asked for the former’s resignation as he [Imran Khan] and the Minister for Energy Hammad Azhar weren’t evidently happy with his performance, reports Samaa News.

“After a year of public service, I’ve decided to call it a day to return to my family. It’s been the privilege of a lifetime to serve the country, to the best of my abilities, in an honorary capacity. I shall remain indebted to the PM for giving me this opportunity,” Gauhar tweeted.


While publicly accepting the numerous challenges in the energy sector, he added: “No doubt that under the able leadership of Azhar, the MOE [Ministry of Energy] team will continue to stay the course on structural reforms.”

According to Geo News, the development comes after Gauhar and Federal Minister for Maritime Affairs Ali Zaidi developed rifts on the controversy sparked over the Engro LNG terminal’s dry-docking. Other disagreements included the Pakistan Stream Gas Pipeline (PSGP) project and Gauhar’s stance in favour of laying down the North-South Pipeline with the help of local gas companies.

Last month, he had written a letter to Hammad Azhar, pointing out multiple challenges in the energy sector.

Gauhar had resigned from his post earlier this year but at the time his resignation had not been accepted. Later, Gauhar had lodged a complaint with the premier, pleading that two cabinet members were interfering in the affairs of the Ministry of Energy.

After this news, a total of 11 Special ministers have resigned so far.

Zulfi Bukhari as SAPM on Overseas Pakistanis

Dr Ishrat Hussain as SAPM on Institutional Reforms and Austerity 

Tabish Gauhar as SAPM on Power and Petroleum

Lt Gen Asim Bajwa as SAPM on China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) affairs

Firdaus Ashiq Awan as Special Assistant to Punjab Chief Minister on Information


Dr Zafar Mirza as SAPM on Health

Tania Aidrus as SAPM on Digital Pakistan

Shahzad Qasim as SAPM on Coordination of Marketing and Development of Mineral Resources

Dr Waqar Masood Khan as SAPM on Finance and Revenue

Iftikhar Durrani as SAPM on Media Affairs.

Yousaf Baig Mirza as SAPM on Media Affairs.