Pakistan defeated the Netherlands by 81 runs in the second match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 on Friday.

However, the match was unique because during the first innings, when the Pakistan team was batting, an umpiring error allowed a five balls over. This happened during the 14th over when Saud Shakeel scored a boundary and completed his fifty runs on the second last ball of the over. Then both standing umpires ended the over.

The laws on Lord’s official website state that clause 17.5 of THE OVER, SCORING RUNS, DEAD BALL AND EXTRAS deals with the umpires’ miscounting, and explains that any revisions are not possible after a ball is bowled.

RELATED STORIES

Clause 17.5.1 states, “If the umpire miscounts the number of valid balls, the over as counted by the umpire shall stand.”

Read More: Big blow for Indian team, star batsman infected with Dengue

Another mistake was made by umpires in the 8th over of the innings when an extra fielder was set outside the circle. Muhammad Rizwan signaled to the umpire and the ball was given a free hit.

This is not the first time a miscalculated over has been bowled in cricket history. During the match between Pakistan and India in the Women’s T20 World Cup, India was given an over with seven balls.