Following Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan’s arrest on May 9 in connection with a corruption case, the country saw violent protests as his supporters clashed with law-enforcement agencies. The protests also targeted state and military installations, which resulted in a severe crackdown on the party.

Many prominent PTI leaders were arrested including Shireen Mazari, Fawad Chahudry, Asad Umar and Shah Mahmood Qureshi.
The arrests and the criticism of the party led many PTI members to quit. Most of them left the party after holding press conferences or releasing video messages condemning the events of May 9. At least 100 Members of PTI have left the party.

The member who have left the party are now joining new alliances and some are joining other parties.


Democrats Group:
This group is formed by Hashim Dogar and Murad Raas
There are reports that this group has 35 former MPAs and MNAs

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Haqiqi:
PTI haqiqi has been formed by Rao Yasir, who previously served as PTI Multan district Youth Wing president.

What parties and already established groups are these members joining?

Jahangir Khan Tareen group:
There are reports of dissident PTI members joining Jahangir Khan Tareen group. Tareen used to be a close aide of PTI chief Imran Khan.

PML-Q Group
Many including Ayesha Gulalai have decided to join the Pakistan Muslim League-Q (PML-Q).