In the 17th match of the ICC ODI World Cup, India won its fourth consecutive victory in the event by defeating Bangladesh by seven wickets.

Bangladesh captain Najamul Hasan Shanto won the toss and decided to bat first in the match played in Pune.

Opening batsmen Tanzid Hasan and Liton Das put on a wonderful opening partnership of 93 runs in 14 overs and 4 balls, but then Hasan returned to the pavilion after scoring 51 runs off 43 balls.


Liton Das was then dismissed for 66, captain Najamul Hasan Shanto for 8, and Mehidi Hasan Miraz for just 3 runs. Tauheed scored 16 runs, Mushfiqur Rahim scored 38 runs and Mahmudullah scored 14 runs, taking Bangladesh to a total of 256 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the scheduled 50 overs.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, and Jadeja took two wickets each for India.

Chasing Bangladesh’s target of 257 runs, Indian batsmen went on the offensive from the start, with openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill putting on an 88-run partnership, but then Rohit was dismissed for 48 runs.

Chasing the target, Gill scored a half-century but then returned to the pavilion after scoring 53 runs while Shreyas Iyer managed to score 19 runs. Virat Kohli once again batted responsibly and scored a magnificent century, the 48th of his ODI career. Kohli played an unbeaten innings of 103 runs against while KL Rahul remained unbeaten on 34 runs.

India easily chased down Bangladesh’s target of 257 runs in the 42nd over for the loss of three wickets and secured their fourth consecutive win in the event. Kohli was awarded the player of the match for his brilliant batting.

This is Bangladesh’s third defeat in the event.