In the 29th match of the ICC World Cup, India defeated defending champion England by 100 runs.

Rohit Sharma and Shibman Gill opened the innings for India, but the latter got bowled for nine runs on a total of 26, while Virat Kohli was also caught out without scoring any runs on nine balls.

India’s third dismissal was Shreyas Iyer who was caught by Mark Wood off Chris Woakes for four runs while the Blue Shirts suffered their fourth loss at 131 when KL Rahul was dismissed for 39. Indian captain Rohit Sharma returned to the pavilion after scoring 87 runs, while Surya Kumar Yadav scored 49 runs and Jasprit Bumrah scored 16 runs. Jadeja scored eight runs, Mohammad Shami scored one run, Kuldeep Yadav scored nine runs and remained not out.


India scored 229 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the allotted 50 overs.

On behalf of England, David Wiley took three wickets, Chris Woakes and Adil Rashid took two wickets respectively.

Chasing the target of 230 runs, the English batting line-up crumbled like leaves, and the entire team was bowled out for 129 runs in 34.5 overs.

Liam Livingston scored 27 runs, David Mullan scored 16 runs and Moeen Ali scored 15 runs.

Jonny Bairstow scored 14, Jos Buttler and Chris Woakes scored 10 and 10 respectively, while Joe Root and Ben Stokes were dismissed for zero.

Mohammad Shami dismissed four players by giving 22 runs in 7 overs, Jasprit Bumrah got three wickets by giving 32 runs and Kuldeep Yadav got two wickets by giving 24 runs in eight overs.