In the 33rd match of the ICC World Cup, India qualified for the semi-finals by defeating Sri Lanka by a huge margin of 302 runs in a one-sided match.

Sri Lankan captain Kaushal Mendes won the toss and invited Indian captain Rohit Sharma to bat first. Indian captain Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill started the innings on behalf of India, but the openers of the unbeaten team of the tournament could not provide a long partnership in front of the Sri Lankan bowlers.

Sri Lankan bowler Madhushanka bowled Indian captain Rohit Sharma on the second ball of the first over and sent him to the pavilion with just four runs. After the fall of one wicket, a wonderful partnership of 189 runs was established between Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill. India’s second wicket was Shubman Gill on 193 runs when Madushanka caught him on 92 runs, after which Madushanka himself sent Virat Kohli to the pavilion for 88 runs.


Shreyas Iyer played a brilliant inning of 82 runs off 56 balls, KL Rahul 21, Surya Kumar 12, Jadeja 35 and Mohammad Shami got out after scoring two runs.

The Indian team scored 357 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the allotted 50 overs.

For Sri Lanka, Dilshan Madhushanka dismissed five players while Chimera took one wicket.

Chasing India’s target of 358 runs, Sri Lanka’s batting line proved to be a wall of sand, collapsing in spectacular fashion. None of the batsmen could play in front of the devastating bowling. Chasing 358 runs, the Sri Lankan team collapsed for 55 runs in 19.4 overs. Kasan Rajitha scored 14 runs and Angelo Mathews scored 12 runs, while Madhushanka was dismissed for five runs.

Mohammad Shami dismissed five players by while Mohammad Siraj took three wickets for 16 runs. Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja took one wicket each.