In the first semi-final of the ICC ODI World Cup, India defeated New Zealand by 70 runs and qualified for the final.

Indian captain Rohit Sharma invited the Kiwis to the field.

India’s inning:


India scored 397 runs for the loss of four wickets in the allotted 50 overs, with Virat Kohli scoring 117 and Shreyas Iyer scoring 105 runs. Apart from this, KL Rahul remained unbeaten with 39 runs while Surya Kumar Yadav scored one run.

Tim Southee took three wickets and Trent Boult took one wicket for New Zealand.

New Zealand’s inning:

In pursuit of India’s target of 398 runs, Daryl Mitchell played an innings of 134 runs but he too could not take his team to the final.

Kane Williamson scored 69 runs while Glenn Phillips was dismissed for 41 runs, and Dion Conway and Rachin Ravindra scored 13 runs respectively.

Chasing the target, the entire team of New Zealand was bowled out for 327 runs in 48.5 overs and thus India won the match by 70 runs and qualified for the final of the World Cup.

For India, Mohammad Shami took 7 wickets for 57 runs in 9.5 overs while Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav took one wicket each.