Queen Elizabeth II, the longest-reigning monarch in British history, breathed her last on Thursday in Balmoral Castle, United Kingdom (UK) at the age of 96.
“The Queen died peacefully at Balmoral this afternoon,” a display message on the official website of the Royal family reads.

“The official website of the Royal Family is temporarily unavailable while appropriate changes are made.”

Who is the new King?

Charles, as the queen’s eldest son, inherited the sovereign title and job as head of the Commonwealth, along with other assets such as land and property.


Charles, 73, is the longest-serving heir in British history after waiting decades to get to the throne. The queen and her late husband, Prince Philip, had four children together, with him being the oldest. He became Britain’s heir apparent at age 3 when his mother succeeded to the throne at the age of 25. Prince of Wales, Duke of Cornwall, Duke of Rothesay, and Earl of Carrick are some of Charles’ titles.

The Prince and Princess of Wales were born after Charles wed Diana Spencer in 1981. William and Harry, two princes, were born to them. Charles and Diana separated in 1992. Charles wed Camilla Parker Bowles, who is now known as the Duchess of Cornwall, in 2005 after Diana passed away in 1997.

Will Camilla become the new Queen?

The title of queen is typically bestowed upon the king’s wife, but in Camilla’s case, this hasn’t always been the case.
At the time of Charles and Camilla’s wedding in 2005, it was agreed that she would be referred to as princess consort rather than queen. However, now that he is king, Charles has the option of changing this designation.

What is expected to happen in the next ten days?
Day 1:

Charles will be officially proclaimed King. This happens at St James’s Palace in London, in front of a ceremonial body known as the Accession Council. The same day, in the afternoon, the new king will have audiences with the prime minister and cabinet, the leader of the opposition, the archbishop of Canterbury and the dean of Westminster.

Day 2:
The Queen’s coffin will return to Buckingham Palace. Proclamations will be read in the devolved administrations. Tributes are likely to continue in parliament.

Day 3:
In the morning, King Charles will receive the motion of condolence at Westminster Hall.
In the afternoon, he will embark on a tour of the United Kingdom, starting with a visit to the Scottish parliament and a service at St. Giles Cathedral in Edinburgh.

Day 4:
King Charles will land in Northern Ireland, where he will attend a ceremony at St. Anne’s Cathedral in Belfast and receive a further motion of sympathy at Hillsborough Castle.
Rehearsals for the funeral will be taking place.

Day 5:
On the fifth day, a procession will begin, starting at Buckingham Palace and ending at the Houses of Parliament, then a service will be held at Westminster Hall.
The Queen will then be placed on display for three days so that the public can view her coffin.

Day 6:
On the fifth day, a procession will begin, starting at Buckingham Palace and ending at the Houses of Parliament, then a service will be held at Westminster Hall.

Day 7:
King Charles will travel to Wales to receive another motion of condolence at the Welsh parliament and attend a service at Liandaff Cathedral in Cardiff.

Day 08:
Prime ministers and governors general from the countries are anticipated to attend King Charles’ coronation.

Day 09:
Charles will extend an invitation to visiting royal families from other countries the night before the funeral. VIP foreign visitors are anticipated at the lying in state.

Day 10:
The state funeral itself will be held at Westminster Abbey.
There will be a two-minutes’ silence across the nation at midday.
Processions will take place in London and Windsor.
There will be a committal service in St. George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle, and the queen will be buried in the castle’s King George VI Memorial Chapel.