Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan will be contesting by-elections on all nine National Assembly (NA) constituencies that had fallen vacant after NA Speaker Raja Pervez Ashraf accepted 11 resignations of PTI members under Article 64(1) of the Constitution of Pakistan.

The announcement that Khan will contest from all nine constituencies was made on PTI’s official Twitter account.

During the 2018 general elections, the PTI chairman contested elections from five constituencies and won all of them.


Election schedule for nine vacant National Assembly seats announced

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on August 5, announced that it will be holding by-elections in nine constituencies of the NA on September 25.

According to the ECP notification, the elections are to be held in NA-22 Mardan -III, NA-24 Charsadda-II, NA-31 Peshawar-V, NA-45 Kurram-I, NA 108 Faisalabad- VIII, NA-118 Nanakana Sahib-II, NA-237 Malir-II, NA-239 Korangi Karachi-I, NA-246 Karachi South-I.


After Imran Khan was ousted through a vote of no-confidence, 123 PTI lawmakers resigned en masse from the National Assembly.

11 PTI MNAs whose resignations were accepted by Speaker NA
  • Ali Muhammad Khan (NA-22)
  • Faisal Muhammad Khan (NA-24)
  • Shaukat Ali (NA-31)
  • Fakhar Zaman Khan (NA-45)
  • Farrukh Habib (NA-108)
  • Ejaz Ahmad Shah (NA-118) )
  • Jameel Ahmad Khan (NA-237)
  • Mohammad Akram Cheema (NA-239)
  • Abdul Shakur Shaad (NA-246)
  • Dr Meher Ansa Shireen Mazari (Reserved Seat)
  • Shandana Gulzar Khan (Reserved Seat)