Lahore Qalandars continued their winning streak on Monday, thrashing Islamabad United in the 16th fixture of PSL 8 by 110 runs at the Gaddafi stadium Lahore.

Choosing to bat first, Qalandars set a massive target of 201 runs with the help of a sensational knock by young player Abdullah Shafique. Islamabad United’s strong batting lineup was eviscerated by Qalandars’ bowling attack, knocking them out in just 13.5 overs by conceding only 90 runs and a thrilling bowling display from David Wiese and Sikandar Raza.

United, on the other hand, were left to revisit their planning.
Qalandars captain Shaheen Shah Afridi, who had the stumps flying against Peshawar Zalmi in his first over a day earlier, did not bowl another classic against United.
In reply to the huge total, United could not establish a productive partnership after Gurbaz and Munro put up 56-2 in the powerplay.
Zaman Khan gave Lahore a much-needed breakthrough after openers Colin Munro and Gurbaz (23) helped Islamabad make a good start.


Zaman delivered a slow short bowl that was mistimed by Gurbaz and Fakhar Zaman took a blinder to send the Afghan batter back to the pavilion.

Soon after Gurbaz’s departure, Shaheen introduced David Wiese, who got the better of Colin Munro, reducing Islamabad to 54-2.

The left-handed batter scored 18 runs off 14 balls.

In the next over, fiery pacer Haris Rauf struck as he sent Rassie van der Dussen (3) packing.

Wiese delivered again as he sent Islamabad’s skipper Shadab Khan (4) back to the pavilion after a successful review.

In a bid to shore up the run rate, Asif Ali went for a six but ended up getting caught by Haris off Rashid Khan.

Wiese added to Islamabad’s miseries by trapping Azam Khan for an lbw. The wicket-keeper batter, who scored 96 runs against Quetta Gladiators in their previous match, was sent packing after he scored only four runs.

The wizard Rashid claimed his second scalp of the evening by bowling out Tom Curran (10).

For Lahore, Wiese claimed three wickets, while Rashid and Raza took two scalps each. Zaman and Haris secured a wicket each.

Playing XI for both teams

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Tahir Baig, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings (wk), Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi (c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Islamabad United: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Colin Munro, Rassie van der Dussen, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Tom Curran, Abrar Ahmed, Zeeshan Zameer, Hasan Ali