Pakistan Super League (PSL) ended with Lahore Qalandars finally winning their maiden PSL trophy, beating defending champions Multan Sultans with 42 runs on Sunday at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Lahore had handed Multan a stiff 181-run target and the team was at their best both with the ball as well as in the field.

Captain of Multan Sultans Mohammad Rizwan managed to get 14 off 12 balls while Shan Masood, 19 off 15, was run out by Qalandars’ Fakhar Zaman.
Khushdil Shah and Tim David smashed some boundaries, but they had a huge task against a world-class bowling attack of Lahore.


Sultans lost wickets at regular intervals and after that David Willey, Imran Tahir, Rumman Raees were removed in a wink of an eye, as Tahir was the last man to go when Haris Rauf took a great catch.

Sultans only managed to reach 138 runs with all wickets fallen.

Among the bowlers, Shaheen Shah Afridi took three, Mohammad Hafeez and Zaman Khan two, while David Wiese and Rauf one.

Hafeez bagged Player of the Match award for his 46-ball 69.

Twitter was flooded with congratulatory messages for the winning team of PSL 7, Lahore Qalandars. Notables including Prime Minister Imran Khan, President Dr Arif Alvi, Chief Minister Punjab Usman Buzdar and several others took to Twitter to congratulate the team.


Earlier, PM Khan had also predicted that Lahore Qalandars can win PSL 7 trophy.

Taking to Twitter, Shaheen wrote: “The wait of 7 long years has finally ended. We are PSL champions, Alhumdulillah.”

“Grateful to every single player, coaches, owners, staff and super fans for your belief. You made it possible. @iMRizwanPak bhai & @MultanSultans, you fought like champions,” he added.