Shehbaz Sharif has taken oath as the 24th prime minister of Pakistan today (Monday) at President’s House in Islamabad.

President Dr Arif Alvi administered the oath to the newly-elected premier. The oath-taking ceremony began with a holy recitation.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president was elected the 24th prime minister of the country on Sunday, after completed his previous 16-month tenure from April 2022 to August 2023.


It will be the second time that Shehbaz Sharif will serve the nation as prime minister. The PML-N president got 201 votes against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) opponent Omar Ayub Khan, who got 92 votes in the National Assembly (NA) on Sunday.

Shehbaz’s victory was expected, as he enjoyed the support of seven other parties apart from the PML-N. The PM-elect is backed by the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Pakistan Muslim League-Zia (PML-Z), Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP), and the National Party (NP).

The sources of Geo News claimed that caretaker prime minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar will welcome Shehbaz Sharif at the Prime Minister’s House.