The Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on Sunday placed the names of six closed aides of former Prime Minister (PM) Imran Khan on ‘stop list,’ barring them from travelling abroad without permission.

According to official list: they Khan principal secretary Azam Khan, former special assistant to PM on political communication Dr Shahbaz Gill, ex-adviser to PM on interior and accountability Shahzad Akbar, Director-General (DG) Punjab Corruption Establishment Gohar Nafees, and DG Federal Investigation Agency Punjab Zone Mohammad Rizwan’s names have been added to the ‘stop list’. As per reports, the name of Pakistan Tehreek-Insaaf’s (PTI) head of social media Dr Arsalan Khalid is also among the list.

The FIA introduced a system of ‘stop list’ in 2003 to stop unwanted people from trying to leave the country in the shortest possible time as placing someone’s name on Exit Control List (ECL) takes a long time.


The development came after, the Opposition’s no-confidence motion against former Prime Minister Imran Khan succeeded on Sunday, with 174 members voted in favour of the motion.