The National Assembly is set to choose a new Prime Minister (PM) of Pakistan today (Monday) at 2pm after the removal of Imran Khan from the premiership in a no-confidence vote.

On Sunday, the Joint Opposition’s candidate and Pakistan Muslim-League (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif and PTI’s Shah Mahmood Qureshi’s nomination papers were accepted.

The former minister for information and broadcasting Fawad Chaudhry also announced that PTI’s MNA will resign from their posts on Monday.


In the early hours of Sunday, Imran Khan was ousted as the PM of Pakistan from office through a no-confidence motion after a 12-hour heated NA session.

The session was chaired by Ayaz Sadiq after the resignation of NA speaker Asad Qasier.

“174 members have recorded their votes in favour of the resolution, consequently the resolution for the vote on no-confidence against Mr Imran Khan, the prime minister of Pakistan, has been passed by a majority,” Ayaz Sadiq announced after the process of voting was completed.