Former prime minister and Pakistan People’s Party leader Raja Pervez Ashraf was elected Speaker of the National Assembly unopposed on Friday following the en masse resignations by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) members from the lower house of the parliament after the success of a no-confidence vote against former prime minister Imran Khan.

It is to be noted that the seat of the National Assembly speaker fell vacant after Asad Qaiser resigned in accordance with the PTI’s decision minutes before voting on the no-confidence motion against then-Prime Minister Imran Khan on April 9.


Who is Raja Pervaiz Ashraf?

On Saturday, a no-confidence motion against Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri is set to be introduced in the House. On Saturday, the National Assembly was scheduled to assemble to pick a new speaker. Suri, on the other hand, has adjourned the house on April 22.