Chairman of the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party, Jahangir Tareen has announced that he is resigning from the party leadership and is leaving politics. Tareen took to X (former Twitter) and thanked everyone for supporting him and also congratulated his opponents.

Tareen lost both the seats he was contesting on this year: in Lodhran and Multan. His party won two seats to the National Assembly won by Aun Chaudhry and Aleem Khan.

On the other hand, Jamat-e-Islami chief Siraj-ul-Haq (JI) has also resigned from his party position. The JI chief had also lost his seat in the election.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Parliamentarians (PTI-P) chief Parvez Khattak has denied reports of him leaving politics.


The senior politician confirmed that the news regarding his retirement from politics is wrong. He further said that he just wants a little break from politics.

Parvez Khattak resigned from his party position on Monday afternoon after he, his family and most of the party suffered defeat in general elections 2024.