Pakistan’s opening batsman Abdullah Shafique has contracted fever ahead of the national’s team match against Australia on October 20, team sources have told Geo News’s reporter Faizan Lakhani on Tuesday.

As per team management, earlier Fakhar Zaman was suffering from knee pain, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Usama Mir were suffering from fever, however, all three have now recovered.

Reports state that the team underwent comprehensive medical examinations as part of the COVID-19 and dengue fever protocol.


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Tuesday rejected media reports that claimed several players have contracted an infection.

“Thankfully, there is no viral infection or disease,” a PCB spokesperson said after reports triggered speculations.

The team also changed their training sessions multiple times lending credence to these reports.

“Those who are in the stage of recovery remain under the team medical panel’s observation,” the spokesperson added.

Meanwhile, the team also rescheduled a training session after cancelling it earlier today.

Pakistan team will have a two-hour training session at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium today (Tuesday) from 6pm to 8pm in Bengaluru.

Assuring concerned fans, sources stated to Lakhani, “There is no concern about the health of players.”

“Some players got fever in the past few days, and most of them have fully recovered from it. Those who are in the stage of recovery remain under the team medical panel’s observation,” said the Pakistan team’s spokesman.

Schedule of Pakistan’s remaining matches

October 20 – vs Australia in Bengaluru

October 23 – vs Afghanistan in Chennai

October 27 – vs South Africa in Chennai

October 31 – vs Bangladesh in Kolkata

November 4 – vs New Zealand Bengaluru (Day match)

November 11 – vs England in Kolkata

Day matches will start at 10:00am Pakistan Standard Time (PST) while all other matches will be day-night fixtures starting at 01:30pm (PST).

Pakistan squad for ICC World Cup 2023

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan